Stopbyte

How to make a custom and advanced TabControl in WPF, using XAML only?

I want to learn the best approach to style a TabControl and TabControlItem Elements in WPF. and possibly using XAML markup alone.

I’m new to WPF and XAML, and i need to make a new Theme from scratch for my WPF application, now i am stuck at styling the TabControl i don’t even know where to start, and how to start styling it. as all the styles i tried where replacing all my TabControl items, and content.

any help would be most appreciated ?

1 Like

As for all WPF Controls the best approach to style them is to use clean XAML markup and avoid code behind as you can. (forget the Windows Forms design approach).

Here is a full style for both TabControl and TabItem controls, i used this style in one of my WPF applications few months ago, so it should work for you as well:

TabItem can be styled this way:

<Style TargetType="{x:Type TabItem}">
    <Setter Property="Background" Value="Transparent" />
    <Setter Property="Template">
        <Setter.Value>
            <ControlTemplate TargetType="{x:Type TabItem}">
                <Border x:Name="PART_Border" Background="{TemplateBinding Background}" BorderThickness="1" BorderBrush="LightGray" Margin="2">
                    <ContentPresenter ContentSource="Header" Margin="2" />
                </Border>
                <ControlTemplate.Triggers>
                    <Trigger Property="IsSelected" Value="True">
                        <Setter TargetName="PART_Border" Property="BorderBrush" Value="Black" />
                    </Trigger>
                </ControlTemplate.Triggers>
            </ControlTemplate>
        </Setter.Value>
    </Setter>
</Style>

The only interesting element in this style is the Border "PART_Border", used to replace the default border inside a TabItem Element.

TabControl can be styled this way: